Arts Council of Torrance Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors April 28, 2015 6:30 p.m. Plasma Technology, 1765 Oak Street - Conference Room

President Norris called the regular meeting of the Arts Council Board of Directors to order at 7:25 p.m. in the Oak Street Conference Room.

A quorum was established.

Attendees: Steve Norris, Patrice Lefevre, Janene Ferguson, Peggy Dowell and Sue Berliner

Excused: Owen Griffith, Janine Madden, Megan Willis

Absent: Eileen Haussmann, John O'Brien

The minutes of the March 31, 2015 Board of Directors meeting were distributed. Sue Berliner **moved** to approve the minutes as corrected. Janene **seconded** the motion. **Motion Carried.**

The minutes of the February 24, 2015 Board of Directors meeting were also distributed. Janene Ferguson <u>moved</u> to approve the minutes as corrected. Patrice Lefevre <u>seconded</u> the motion. **Motion Carried.**

Patrice Lefevre presented the Treasurers Report ending April 30, 2015 that indicated the following:

Ending Balance Checking Total Income Total Expenses End Bank Balance	\$ 4,976.55 0 \$ 4,200.00 \$ 776.55
One West Bank CD Petty Cash	\$ 9,619.39 \$ 50.00
Total Cash on Hand	\$10,445.94

Sue Berliner <u>moved</u> to accept the Treasurer's report. Janene Ferguson <u>seconded</u> the motion. **Motion Carried**.

Peggy Dowell <u>moved</u> to accept the Treasurer's Report ending February 28, 2015. Sue Berliner <u>seconded</u> the motion. <u>Motion Carried</u>. Note: Because the Board did not have a quorum at its March meeting, no business could be acted upon at that time; hence the Minutes and the Treasurer's Report were held over for approval at this meeting of the Board.

The board <u>unanimously agreed</u> to pay the \$500 deposit required to reserve Ken Miller Recreation Center for the Arts Awards Event in 2016 and to pay the fee due to continue Constant Contact for the monthly blasts of arts activities in Torrance (amount to be determined).

Patrice Lefevre read a thank you note written sent by Justin Deninger, winner of the Honorable Mention award for Vocal Music, for the award.

Several members had also sent their ballots in favor of electing the nominating committee composed of Patrice Lefevre, Sue Berliner, Janene Ferguson, Jack Kells, Pam Barrett-Hill and

ACT Board of Directors Meeting Minutes dated April 28, 2015 Page Two

Megan Willis as alternate.

A discussion was held regarding the proposal to change the regular Board Meetings from the fourth Tuesdays to the fourth Thursdays of each month. Peggy Dowell **moved** to change the meeting dates to the Fourth Thursday beginning in June. Patrice **seconded** the motion. **Motion Carried.**

Patrice Lefevre, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, stated the committee has selected the following nominees as officers for the 2015-16 Year.

President Steve Norris 1st VP. Programs Sue Berliner 2nd VP Membership vacant

Treasurer Patrice Lefevre
Secretary Peggy Dowell
Corresponding Secy Janene Ferguson
Historian Megan Willis

Peggy Dowell <u>moved</u> that the Board of Directors recommend to the membership to elect the nominees as presented by the Nominating Committee. Steve Norris <u>seconded</u> the motion. **Motion carried.**

Nominations may also be made from the floor at the June Meeting/Luncheon.

Chairmen Reports

1st VP Programs

Sue Berliner stated she will get the invitations in the mail by next week. She will ask the Arts Recognition Award 2^{nd} Place winner, Natalie Fleming if she would sing at the luncheon.

2nd VP Membership

Peggy Dowell reported that ACT now has 62 current members.

The Arts Recognition Awards Event Overview will be postponed to a later date so everyone interested can attend.

Janene Ferguson gave a brief report of the increase in classes at the Cultural Arts Center.

Peggy Dowell opened a discussion about creating an exhibit of Healing Arts featuring the art work of the veterans in the South Bay. Additional discussion will be held to define goals and details of a possible future project.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 9:00 p.m.

Peggy Dowell Secretary